Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.39

Buy Now for £19.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

My name is Kaidance Monroe, and sometimes when I touch people, I see how they die.

After I saw my little brother's death but failed to stop it, my parents abandoned me to a juvenile detention facility. I don't let people touch me anymore. Not my fingertips, not my skin, not my heart.

Just before I turned 18, I got a visit from a cute guy, who tricked me into giving up my secrets. He said I was special, but he wasn't the only one searching for me. I barely escaped with my life. Now I'm in a mansion, learning how to control my abilities - abilities so powerful, even the gods are jealous. I didn't mean to make anyone fall for me. Certainly not my would-be killer. And I never imagined how far he would fall.

The Scarlet Thread is a dark fantasy romance for fans of Greek mythology and Gothic romance. Fans of Fallen and Percy Jackson will be captivated by this mashup of fallen angels and forgotten gods.

This is Book One in the Fated Destruction series.

This is a "slow burn" dark fantasy romance - relationships are being formed, but won't heat up until book two. You'll have to keep listening to see whether Kaidance ends up with Puriel, the smoldering fallen angel who tried to kill her, or Sitri, her mysterious brooding savior.

©2016 D.S. Murphy (P)2017 D.S. Murphy

More from the same

What listeners say about The Scarlet Thread

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • S
  • 11-04-20

Kaidance has spent her life trying to hide her cur

Kaidance has spent her life trying to hide her curse, she can see a person's death when she touches them. When she was small, she tried to save her brother from the death she had foreseen, but no one believed her and they thought she actually caused the death. Since then she has been living at the Juvenile Delinquent Reform Institution. What she doesn't know is that The Fates gave her this power and there is someone who will stop at nothing to use her power.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good read - highly recommend

Very good book, slightly hard to follow at times but interesting and captivating. Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dark and Mystical

This is a dark Greek gothic mythology book and I had some doubts at the beginning but as I started to listen I was hooked. Lots of twists and turns. Derek Murphy definitely wrote a unique book that just grabs you. Austen Grey does a fabulous job of reading this story. The book ends on a cliffhanger and you want to pick up the next book right away! 💙

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

well written

It's a good book. Well written and we'll narrated. An enjoyable read which will leave you questioning all that you think you know.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Series Starter!

I thoroughly enjoyed this story and Austenne Grey did an Amazing job as narrator!! The book ended on somewhat of a cliffhanger but that was not all surprising since that is common with series. I am excited to see where the next book takes us.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Redd
  • Redd
  • 10-11-21

Nice Concept

First off, I love this cover and the description had me hooked with Greek mythology set in modern times. Unfortunately, I didn’t love this story as much as I was hoping to. I did enjoy it and I plan to keep reading the series, but there were a few things that really didn’t work for me.

Let’s start with the two things that I couldn’t get past. These are likely personal preferences, so take these comments with a grain of salt. I had a hard time following the main character’s logic. At the beginning, she is presented as a confident young lady who knows how to hold her own. Once she is outside her comfort zone though, there is no trace of that confidence. None. And I understand that being in an unknown situation makes people act out of character and they have to find new footing, but it was such an abrupt difference that it threw me off. Secondly, there was something off with the pacing and flow of the story. There were times when I thought my audiobook copy must be broken as a chapter cut off weirdly or a description didn’t quite match up, but when I checked on my ebook copy, it matched up. I haven’t really done any research, but I suspect this may be an early book written by the author, so maybe they hadn’t quite found their writing rhythm. I’m guessing this will improve over future books, so that’s cool.

Oh, one more thing I did not like. This story did not need the main character to be sexually assaulted and almost raped. That plot point did not add to the story and I did not appreciate the use of this “trope.”

On to the things I liked and will make me keep reading!

I liked how the Greek gods and goddesses were painted as good and bad but then threw nuance and context into the mix to make them more diverse as characters. I liked how they interacted with the modern world and the author’s mixture of Greek and Christian iconography to explain various human interpretations.

The romance elements were subtle and nicely done for the most part although there was plenty going on that I’m glad it wasn’t the focus. The narrator did a most excellent job adding depth and emotion to the reading and kept my attention the entire time.

I’m curious to see where this series goes from here.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crystal
  • Crystal
  • 08-11-21

Love!

the narrator did a wonderful job! It can sometimes take me a few days to almost 2 weeks to finish a book...but I was so invested that it only took me 2 days! loved the storyline and the execution. looking forward to the next 2.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 21-10-21

Amazing!!

Omg this book was so amazingly good! The story was so unique and interesting. I loved how it has modern-day stuff, magic, and literal gods/demigods all in one place! Definitely a series I'll be finishing. Highly recommend!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John
  • John
  • 18-10-21

A Greek inspired adventure with a female lead

The Scarlet Thread is sort of like a darker Percy Jackson with a female lead. This is the kind of book that’s hard to set down. There is a setup for a love triangle, and I keep going back and forth on who I want the female lead to end up with because both of the guys are interesting and appealing characters. I would recommend the series for teen and adult readers. It does contain language and violence. The ending is an abrupt cliffhanger that left me eager for the next book.

The narrator of the audiobooks is well-suited to them, and she does a good job.

I received a complementary copy of this audiobook. This is my honest and voluntary review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Skimbro76
  • Skimbro76
  • 13-08-21

PHENOMENAL!!

absolutely loved this book, takes you on a journey into the world of Zeus vs Hades and the struggle for power and Kadence being torn between what is right and True or what everyone wants from her, Austenne Grey is perfection, she did an amazing job!! This is my first book by D.S. Murphy but definitely won't be the last

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tammy B Oakley
  • Tammy B Oakley
  • 20-05-20

Great Story!💜

This is going to be a great series. I love this storyline and all the amazing characters.
This is my first book with this narrator and I loved her. Great job on so many different characters.
This is book 1 and continues on into the next book.
If you don’t mind cliffhangers I recommend this book/series!

Sisters Spotlight 💜

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dawn M
  • Dawn M
  • 17-04-20

Loved it!

this is a great listen the story is fantastic and the Narrator is fabulous! i enjoyed them bringing the story to life and i will be checking out the next book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Timi Kraft
  • Timi Kraft
  • 18-03-20

Good start

A very good to the series. Very well written, and good narration. Like the twist on Greek mythology.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laura
  • Laura
  • 13-03-20

Great twist!!

I listened to the audiobook and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The narrator did a fabulous job bringing the story to life. I highly recommend it.

This was a great book to start off the Fated Destruction series.
This is my first book that has introduced me to the author and I was immersed with the world building that the author created. I immediately felt for the main character Kaidance. Here is a young girl who was abandoned by her parents after she attempted to warn them about her brothers death but they ignored her and abandoned her in a juvenile detention center where bad stuff happens to the girls. Then the story continues to unfold and brings in another world of Greek mythology. I absolutely loved it!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 08-03-20

Time!

Awesome story! What would you do if you had ability to see the future! Narrator was great! Can't wait until 2nd story!

1 person found this helpful