Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Thousands of incredible audiobooks and podcasts to take wherever you go.
Immerse yourself in a world of storytelling with the Plus Catalogue - unlimited listening to thousands of select audiobooks, podcasts and Audible Originals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Passenger cover art

The Passenger

By: Daniel Hurst
Narrated by: Rupert Bush, Deirdra Whelan
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

Tracks cover art
Her Husband's Mistake cover art
The Doctor's Wife cover art
He is Watching You cover art
The Couple in the Cabin cover art
My Husband's Lies cover art
My Word Against His cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Lodge cover art
Friends Don’t Lie cover art
What She Did cover art
Six Months to Kill cover art
Last Orders cover art
Don't Speak cover art
For Your Own Protection cover art
Silent Lies cover art

Summary

She takes the same train every day. But this is a journey she’ll never forget. The Passenger is a stunning psychological thriller with a nerve-shredding climax. Perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, K.L. Slater and Miranda Rijks.

Amanda is a hardworking single mum, completely focused on her job and her daughter, Louise. She’s been saving for years, and now, finally, she can afford to give up work and chase her dream. But then, on her commute home from London to Brighton, she meets a charming stranger - who seems to know everything about her. He delivers an ultimatum. She needs to give him the code for the safe where she keeps her savings before the train reaches Brighton - or she’ll never see Louise again. Convinced that the threat is real, Amanda is stunned, horrified. She knows she should give him the code, but she can’t. Because she also knows there is a terrible secret in that safe which will destroy her life and Louise’s, too....

©2021 Daniel Hurst (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic reviews

“Hurst draws the reader into his characters’ world and turns our expectations on their heads as we try and navigate through this unusual and cleverly drawn plot." (On the Shelf Books)

What listeners say about The Passenger

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping fast paced plot

This was one of the best books I’ve read by the author so far. Excellent narration. I judge a book by whether it grips me and I’m not bored listening to it. I’m quite hard to please. This ticked my boxes for a gripping read while doing mundane household tasks. Very very good compared to sone of the stuff I’ve been trying to get gripped by and having to return. This one has been worth the credit

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, easy listen

bit repetitive. male narrator had a weird habit of pausing mid sentence but overall good

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

didnt like female characters

the Voice of the male characters was interesting and well chosen but I feel bad choice for the mother. the character of the females were very unlikeable. also quite shallow . no real psychological profiling of characters especially the women which would have made book more engaging. the story itself was to me quite original..I haven't read one similar. araminta hall books provide more fleshed out dangerous women, but id still give this 3 stars overall

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, it keeps you interested from the prologue.

I really enjoyed this story. The prologue catches your interest and each chapter makes you want to keep listening. I liked the way there were 2 readers, to keep the different characters seperate. great ending top, well recommended.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great “listen in a day” book

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. No unnecessary waffle. As others have said-it’s fiction! Not en entirely believable story line but I’ve read much, much worse. Whilst the main character comes across a bit monotone, I feel that adds to the twisty secrets she hides. I liked the drop-fed twists. I’d read more by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Slow burner but not bad

Takes ages until it gets interesting. But as soon as it gets, it’s really good

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story

The performance was really good with lots of twists and turns. Unfortunately some of the threads didn’t really improve the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story - listened to in 3 days

tho the story was good - I did find the narrator lady a tad irritating as her accent of the two male parts made them sound like Bill Sykes from Oliver which started to grate on me after a while!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good old-fashioned thriller/mystery.

I love the way Hurst writes. It's so easy to believe that you quickly get sucked straight into the storyline.
Louise is facing another train journey home on a packed train, but unlike most commuters, this is her favourite time of the day. Rushing to her preferred seat and slipping out her laptop, she only thinks about writing the next pages of her debut novel. When suddenly a cheeky teenager steals her seat, the handsome stranger sitting opposite saves the day. Could he be too good to be true, or is he her knight in shining armour?
With several twists and turns, this book will have you hooked until the end!

4/5

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The suspense

I literally could not put this down. The tension throughout especially towards the end, kept me on the edge of my seat. 5 out of 5 for me.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!