Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Maw cover art

The Maw

By: Taylor Zajonc
Narrated by: Neil Hellegers
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £15.99

Buy Now for £15.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Dane Maddock Adventures cover art
Quantum Radio cover art
Beneath cover art
Landing Party cover art
Burial Ground: A Novel cover art
The Extinction Trials cover art
Oblivion Black cover art
I’d Really Prefer Not to Be Here with You, and Other Stories cover art
Fearful Symmetry cover art
The Darwin Elevator cover art
Phantom Frost cover art
Mr. Nightmare cover art
The Anvil cover art
So You Had to Build a Time Machine cover art
Primordial cover art
Born of Water: An Elemental Origins Novel cover art

Summary

For fans of Clive Cussler and Michael Crichton, a thrilling tale of an underground expedition to the deep...and the ultimate struggle for survival.  

Milo Luttrell never expected to step inside the mouth of an ancient cave in rural Tanzania. After all, he's a historian - not an archaeologist. Summoned under the guise of a mysterious life-changing opportunity, Milo suddenly finds himself in the midst of an expedition into the largest underground system in Africa, helmed by a brash billionaire turned exploration guru and his elite team of cavers. It's a once-in-a-lifetime chance to finally solve a century-old disappearance of the famed explorer Lord Riley DeWar, an enigmatic figure who both made - and nearly ruined - Milo's fledgling career.  

Determined to make the most of his second chance, Milo joins the team and begins a harrowing descent into one of Earth's last secrets: a dangerous, pitch-black realm of twisting passages and ancient fossils nearly 2,000 feet underground. But when a storm hits the surface base camp, stranding the cavers and washing away supplies, all communication to the outside world is lost. 

As the remaining resources dwindle and members of the team begin to exhibit strange and terrifying abilities, Milo must brave the encroaching darkness to unearth the truth behind DeWar's fascination with the deep - and why he never left.

©2018 Taylor Zajonc (P)2018 Tantor

What listeners say about The Maw

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great story, well told and surprisingly original.

A great story, well told and surprisingly original.
I found this a genuine,pleasing experience and will definitely look for more books by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

fun adventure, cosmic horror

This book was a lovely surprise. I picked it up on Audible as part of the Prime library, to be honest the cover is so plain i would not have noticed it otherwise.
Happy to say it turned out to be a fun listen! Reminded me of Indiana Jones' adventures, as a team of cavers/scientists descend into a newly found supercave in search of long lost research groups and other treasures.
What follows is the expected claustrophobic journey full of treacherous climbs and dangerous secrets. Quite a few mysteries are awaiting answers as a large storm grows heavy above ground, making leaving impossible and staying likely lethal.
The ending was a curious one, more on the cosmic side. I loved some of the ideas floated around, others were strange, but all made some sense if you understand that the world is not as we know it.
I can honestly recommend this book, as it's a wee hidden gem.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not stop listening start to finish!!

This book kept my attention all the way through. Well written, good storyline & easy to listen to. Never read/listen to anything from this author before, but sim from now on.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unpredictable!!

I absolutely loved this book, well worth a listen. So many twists and turns in the story and I had no idea where this adventure would lead me!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good adventure

Recommend listening unexpectedly the conclusion or the reveal is a good one.. the end is a bit abrupt but still good well read with fleshed out characters overall a good listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

not bad at all.

one of the better freebies I've heard, well narrated and a good story, dragged a little at the end but I would recommend and I'd give it a £2.99 rating.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ruined

The story is gripping and well paced until the end when all semblance of credibility was abandoned for the most unlikely circumstances possible. With a more believable conclusion I would have given more stars.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting ending

Top notch narration!!!! The characters were developed just enough. I didn’t become attached to any in particular.
When the story started to take a more fantastical twist I couldn’t tell where it was going. But the end was good. I enjoyed this enough to recommend it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story well narrated

A 20 thousand leagues under the sea type story and very enjoyable. Well worth a listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Deep in the darkness

I mostly liked this story. It goes off on a bit of an acid trip tangent at one point, but for the most part I liked it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!