Listen free for 30 days

  • The Little House by the Sea

  • Pennystrand Village, Book 1
  • By: Tracy Rees
  • Narrated by: Lu Corfield
  • Length: 8 hrs and 35 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Little House by the Sea cover art

The Little House by the Sea

By: Tracy Rees
Narrated by: Lu Corfield
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Bluebells bob in the salty sea wind, and the cottage gate swings open to reveal the inky-blue cove. It’s exactly how Kitty always pictured it...except in her head, she wasn’t standing here alone.

Kitty Roberts spends her days searching for the perfect home for two...until her boyfriend dumps her. Devastated, she flees to a tiny seaside village called Pennystrand, where she spent golden summers as a child, before her family fell apart.

At first, Kitty’s dramatic escape proves to be exactly what she needs—golden sunsets over warm, sandy beaches, lovably eccentric new neighbors, and even a blush-inducing run-in with Cory Hudson, a floppy-haired local surfer with a heart-stopping smile.

But just as Kitty feels herself beginning to heal, Cory reveals that his time in Pennystrand is nearly up. What’s more, some strange reactions to Kitty in town make her wonder if her connection to this place might go deeper than she thought.

What is this tranquil little village hiding? It seems there’s a secret in Kitty’s past that is about to turn her life on its head once more.... Is she ready for the truth? And will it bring her and Cory closer together, or drive them apart?

A story full of unexpected twists and turns. It will make you smile, laugh, and wish you could visit Pennystrand! Absolutely perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Heidi Swain, and Carole Matthews.

©2022 Tracy Rees (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about The Little House by the Sea

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • NC
  • 05-10-22

Feel good story

Easy listening but great story teller. Tracey normally spins a great yarn and I this is a good one. Great narrator with bril comic timing made me chuckle often.
I've read a few of Tracey's.... only one I wasn't sure of but think may have been put off by the narrator. all the rest good tho not reaching the heights of t he e wonderful Amy Snow.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Problem with narration

I love Tracy Rees’ writing, especially her historical fiction. This one though has a light ‘chick-lit’ type plot; no intricacies, not at all a challenging read and with a good amount of feelgood factor. Despite this being a lighter read the writing itself is rich in beautiful descriptive detail usually reserved for more ‘serious’ literature. Tracy Rees is a skilled author without a doubt.

However the issues with the narration spoiled this experience for me. The narrator has an unfortunate style, lots of it is read through breathy giggling and with jarring timing which is meant to sound casual and conversational but sounds contrived and unnatural. The intonation varies wildly, there is a frequent warbling/ yodelling quality to it none of which is helped by poor editing, meaning some words are missed out and some phrases repeated. For me the quality of the narration got in the way of concentrating on the plot and characters. If this novel is going to be the first in a series I really hope a different narrator is used next time.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nekharpa
  • Nekharpa
  • 23-01-23

Loved the Narrator, but …

I enjoyed this narrator throughout the book, even though I don’t always understand accents from the UK.

But the story has so many missing pieces I found it frustrating.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-11-22

Wonderful

The narrator was excellent Loved her giggles at the appropriate times ....so natural. A lovely easy listen .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jamie Pope
  • Jamie Pope
  • 13-09-22

Loved, loved this story and narration!!

Tracy Rees is at the top of my list of favorite authors. Don’t miss this engaging and entertaining journey to Pennystrande!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anita Kristensen
  • Anita Kristensen
  • 10-09-22

Cosy and friendly

I needed a nice warm blanket to wrap around a bruised and stressed out body. This did the trick for me 😊.