Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Soon to be a major TV series starring Jennifer Garner, produced by Reese Witherspoon's production company Hello Sunshine, makers of Big Little Lies and Little Fires Everywhere.

It was the last thing he told me: protect her.

Before Owen Michaels disappears, he manages to smuggle a note to his new wife, Hannah: protect her. Hannah knows exactly who Owen needs her to protect - his 16-year-old daughter, Bailey, who lost her mother tragically as a child. And who wants absolutely nothing to do with her new stepmother.

As her increasingly desperate calls to Owen go unanswered, his boss is arrested for fraud and the police start questioning her, Hannah realises that her husband isn't who he said he was. And that Bailey might hold the key to discovering Owen's true identity and why he disappeared. Together they set out to discover the truth. But as they start putting together the pieces of Owen's past, they soon realise that their lives will never be the same again....

A beautiful and thrilling mystery, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

©2021 Laura Dave (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Brilliant. Pacy, tense and twisty." (Lisa Hall)

"I adored this beautifully written thriller." (Jo Spain)

"Cancel all your plans before you start this one." (Chris Whitaker)

What listeners say about The Last Thing He Told Me

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    332
  • 4 Stars
    254
  • 3 Stars
    123
  • 2 Stars
    42
  • 1 Stars
    18
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    334
  • 4 Stars
    206
  • 3 Stars
    89
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    15
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    285
  • 4 Stars
    213
  • 3 Stars
    115
  • 2 Stars
    34
  • 1 Stars
    26

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • AM
  • 27-05-21

Good start but gets lost and then boring

Fabulous beginning and totally gripping, if absolutely zero characterisation. Good plotting. But when the plot falls apart the appalling writing gets seriously exposed. Dave writes every sentence three times as if for emphasis or clarity? God knows. I kept shouting at the stereo; 'Full stop! Stop there!' It was all this kind of thing; 'She wondered if he had a notebook, somewhere to write down what she was saying, to log all her words.' Just stop at notebook. Please. Please. Every single sentence was like this. Nonetheless, it was completely gripping until Mr Big shows up and it becomes ludicrous and boring. It's hard to keep up suspense and keep a plot interesting. Dave fails.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

He says.. she says..

Good story but the amount of times the phrases he says or she says etc are used is incredibly annoying

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Long winded, drawling, repetitive and tiring

I wish I could be kinder, but really this was a waste of my time. Constantly repeated phrases ‘what are you talking about’ ‘he says’ ‘I said’ pad out this story that hardly has any true excitement or thrills. The ending was ok, as good as it could be I suppose, however the motives of the characters were sketchy and not satisfactory. A complex puzzle certainly, very much US centric of course. Hannah, the wood turner, is a realist challenged by the initially unexplainable disappearances her husband who she thought she knew. A man called Nicholas Ball is introduced as a Bad Man but comes across as caring and loving. A Texas Marshal knows what’s best but does he? So many people to register. Bailey is the best and ultimately likeable… you may like it more than I did.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Speed up!!

Great story, couldn't put it down! My only criticism is the speed the narrator read at, holy moly was it slow! Had to increase the pace a good bit.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nearly every sentence finishes with “I/she/he said”

Although story gripping enough it became irritating to listen to as practically every speech moment finishes with I/he/she said

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Very dull & underwhelming

Don't waste your time with this one, very long and drawn out and nothing really happens! Very disappointing. Narrator is monotone and slow.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

Good writing and narration but it wasn’t amazing. Very similar to a lot of other books out there and slightly predictable. If you want an easy listen this is perfect .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent read.

I cannot recommend this book enough - engaging story - really great narration too. Can’t wait to see the TV version now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Basic book about not very much

A good start - and then a weird story not written very well. I was (and still am) confused by the part at the beginning where Ethan is called Owen (or is it the other way round) when the 2 first meet. It didn’t make much sense - but then not a lot does in this book.

The later plot with the bad people is written very naively. I couldn’t buy into this and just wanted it to end.

The whole book just doesn’t come together and the last line is just painful. I would not recommend and can’t understand why this book has been so heavily hyped and promoted.

It honestly is dreadful.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Do not waste your time

Worst book I have listened to . Zero plot and a completely unbelievable character in the step mother, what is she? A saint? I was in disbelief when it finished , I felt sure a plot twist would emerge. Appalling .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LouiseRD
  • LouiseRD
  • 02-09-21

Engaging twisty turny plot

One of those thrillers that gives you enough clues to make you find some of your own answers. An easy, engrossing listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Putri F
  • Putri F
  • 13-05-21

Not as good as expected

I chose to listen to this book because Reese Witherspoon raved on the Instagram that this book is so good. She usually gets it right, but not this time.
Maybe Reese and I have different taste in book. This book left me feeling flat. No thrilling in the story.
The characters are 2 dimensional hence it’s hard for me to like the characters.
Just not for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lenore
  • Lenore
  • 30-03-22

Insufferable

The narration was really not easy to listen to. Maybe reading the book would be better, but it was an arduous task getting through the audio version.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roy Karny
  • Roy Karny
  • 28-12-21

great book for a limited time

A great book to pass the time, as in flight or vacation. It is entertaining, I would have loved more character depth and plot, but it's awesome for what it is.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 29-07-21

Riveting!

Couldn't stop listening!! Truly captivating. Hope the movie is on its way - would love to see how it resonates with the way I animated it for myself!