Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Girl Who Survived cover art

The Girl Who Survived

By: Ellie Midwood
Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Girl Who Escaped From Auschwitz: cover art
The Violinist of Auschwitz cover art
Emilia cover art
The Wife Who Risked Everything cover art
The White Rose Network cover art
The Girl on the Platform cover art
The Midwife of Auschwitz cover art
The German Wife cover art
The Watchmaker of Dachau cover art
The Doctor’s Daughter cover art
The Rainbow cover art
The Children's House of Belsen cover art
Inside the Gas Chambers cover art
War Girl Ursula cover art
While Still We Live cover art
Not Without My Sister cover art

Summary

Germany, 1941: “We live together, or we die together.” A novel that will stay with you forever, The Girl Who Survived tells the inspiring true story of Ilse Stein, a German Jew who was imprisoned in a ghetto - and who fell in love with the man she was supposed to loathe.

For 18-year-old Ilse, life is unrecognizable. A year ago, she wasn’t forced to wear a star on her clothes. A year ago, her parents were alive, not yet killed by their own countrymen. A year ago, she had her freedom.

Now, at the break of dawn, she steps off the cattle train into a Minsk ghetto. This is Ilse’s new home: trapped by barbed wire, surrounded by SS guards she is forbidden to look in the eye, with no choice but to trade the last of her belongings for scraps of food. Sentenced for the crime of simply existing, she doesn’t expect to live past the summer.

Yet the prisoners in the ghetto refuse to give up - the underground resistance is plotting their escape. Ilse’s first act of defiance is smuggling from the munitions factory, slipping bullets into the lining of her pockets.

But this is just the beginning.... When Ilse meets Wilhem, a local SS administrative officer, she never dreams that her greatest rebellion will be falling for him. Wilhem promises that she will survive, even if the cost is his life. But in a world of such danger, daring to love is the most dangerous risk of all....

Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Choice, and Orphan Train will be completely gripped by this heartbreaking tale. Based on a true story, this powerful novel shows that love is stronger than terror, and that when life takes everything from you, death is not to be feared....

This book was previously published as No Woman’s Land.

©2021 Ellie Midwood (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girl Who Survived

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The strength that they believe they would Stay alive

Didn't like what they done to the People Didn't like it the way they treated them.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A tale of a love story at a sad time in history

This is a very long book about a love story between two people fighting to stay alive in the midst of the war. Based on a true story with some fiction involved.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Great listen. It’s got a great story line. Well narrated too. A++ book, listen now

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lorri munsey
  • lorri munsey
  • 17-11-21

It was good

I enjoyed the book and the performance. Easy to understand, I liked at the end the epilogue

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 06-10-21

It reads likes historical fiction.

Doesn’t always sound true or they are the two luckiest people in ww2. And one being a Jew and one a minor junior officer.who has own big office seems to do what he wants. If it is true I needed far more of an epilogue than I got. What happened to major players after the war like her two sisters and some of the others. ILL give her credit for very mild sex scene, little if any profanity and likable characters. But I do like this author a lot but I like her fiction better

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HappyMom
  • HappyMom
  • 02-02-24

Not Believable Boring Love Story

Ridiculous. can't understand how this book got such good reviews. besides the boring ridiculous details, the "love story" is fictional. the real Ilsa Stein never loved Shultz, love wasn't stronger than hate, distorted facts minimizes the horrific sacrifice the real Ilsa made.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gillian Finegan
  • Gillian Finegan
  • 10-05-23

A little difficult to follow

The story was a little difficult for me to follow with the names of so many different characters coming and going throughout the book. The story was intriguing, but the ending was a little bit of a let-down.. The Book of Lost Names was much better, I highly recommend that one!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mikki Van Buren
  • Mikki Van Buren
  • 23-12-22

WW II fictional story based on fact

Follows the same stories written about this time. Struggles of the Jewish, someone taken under the wing by a soldier. I’m not gonna say “and they lived happily ever after” because they still had many hardships to overcome but…

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!