Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Deadly storms. An ancient curse. Will her sacrifice save them all?

For generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina's homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the 'true bride' will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe Shim Cheong - Mina's brother's beloved - to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina's brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong's stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all.

But she doesn't have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking....

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a magical feminist retelling of a classic Korean legend, perfect for fans of Uprooted and Miyazaki's Spirited Away.

©2022 Axie Oh (P)2022 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic reviews

"Clever, creative and exquisitely written." (Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times best-selling author of Caraval)

"A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling." (Elizabeth Lim, New York Times best-selling author of Six Crimson Cranes)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

loved the story, never goes wrong with some mythology. the performance was pretty good as well making the whole thing a good experience!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Hard to listen and stay interested

The narrator doesn’t have the nicest voice and the story isn’t very interesting so hard to enjoy listening to the rest of the chapters but will persevere as it’s for my book club

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Didn’t like audiobook voice

Couldn’t bear to listen at that voice, think i tried 1 chapter. Learned to sample audiobooks now, i will do that in the future.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • WY
  • 07-06-22

lovely story

I enjoyed it, glad is a one novel, I personally didnt expected the ending haha. the narrator was alright took me to understand who is who, her words is easy to understand

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Vibrant Mythology retelling

Axie Oh's writing in this book is splendid though a bit simple; it's beautiful and captures the world and characters it creates on a surface level.

It's a book about choosing your own fate, about adventure and love. Not romance, but pure, deep rooted, love - whether it's friendship, family or a partner. I think this book tried to be an allegorical story rather than plot or character driven, instead highlighting the lessons you should learn...

There's a few usual clichés and expected tropes which appear in YA novels, so if that's your cup of tea, you'll enjoy.

This book isn't ground-breaking but it's a nice, sweet, quick read. Probably wouldn't read it again, but I'm glad I read it.

Wouldn't not recommend it, give it ago and make your own mind up. At least the narrator does a lovely job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing book

I absolutely adored this book and the way the story is told, every chance I had to put audible on I did...the way the characters and story develop makes you want to keep turning the pages.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for boonavite
  • boonavite
  • 03-07-22

Beautifully Written

The tale has friendship, romance, family, loyalty and an absolutely breathtaking and atmospheric, sensory world building. If you like Spirited Away, you’ll love this. The narrator has a nice voice and is a competent reader, but lacks the ability to change her voice to depict each character. However, I still enjoyed listening to it and will listen again.