Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A New York Times best seller.

The epic fantasy of 2021, as featured on Cosmo, Buzzfeed, BookRiot, and Refinery 29. In this West African-inspired world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold - the color of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death. She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: She is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: Fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed.... 

©2020 Usborne Publishing Limited (P)2020 Usborne Publishing Limited

Critic reviews

"Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one." (Buzzfeed)

"The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful." (Stephanie Garber, New York Times best-selling author of Caraval)

"Debut author Namina Forna's created a fierce female protagonist you'll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it." (Bookriot)

What listeners say about The Gilded Ones

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

as a teacher in a high school through lockdown, this book was on the Reading list for Year 9's, I loved it so much I brought it for my teenagers to read at home.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Epic!

Loved this book and since I started listening to it on audiobook I couldn't wait to find out what happens next!! Thoroughly enjoyed the themes too of females gaining back their powers after such a long time of being oppressed. Refreshing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great teen fantasy story

I probably expected something more suspenseful. however the first 3 chapters were very engaging, dramatic and set the story up.
After that I felt as though the fantasy war drama would start. so left it that. I think its a cracking storyline though, just not for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the story

Great story, eagerly awaiting the next book. Really didn't like the narration it's a shame because the story is gripping

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story. Writing style not for my age group.

Really strong storyline - had me hooked and dealt with some important social issues alongside it. However, I found the writing very repetitive. The main character ruminated on every little thing or interaction with the same language used over and over. It really started to grate on me from about a quarter of the way through. Character development is important but still... it was annoying to keep coming to a halt all the time to consider everything at excruciating length.

BUT I believe this book is aimed at teens so I may just be a bit old for the writing style... that said, I don't exactly spend my time listening to Shakespeare and Dickens either..... this is the first time I've given a book a negative review.

Anyway, on the bright side, the storyline, world building and lore are all brilliant - enough to keep me listening despite the above. Though I'm glad it's over and I know what happens!

Oh, also, the narrator: she was very talented and kept all the characters very distinct, but her American (which included the main character) and possibly-Irish-esc accents were jarring... which didn't help with the repetitive ruminating.