Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £9.99

Buy Now for £9.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Following the breakout successes of The Night I Met Father Christmas and The Boy Who Made the World Disappear, get ready for the brilliant new novel from actor, comedian and best-selling author Ben Miller, perfect for fans of Matt Haig and David Baddiel! 

Lana loves stories. Especially the ones she and her brother, Harrison, share in their make-believe games. But when Harrison decides he’s too grown-up to play with Lana she finds herself feeling lonely. Until something magical happens....

Hidden in the strange new supermarket in town, Lana discovers a portal to a fairytale world! But these aren’t the happy-ever-after fairytales that Lana knows, they are darker and more dangerous and the characters need Lana’s help to defeat an evil witch. But she can’t do it alone. Can she convince Harrison to believe in stories again and journey to the world with her...before it’s too late?      

©2020 Ben Miller (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about The Day I Fell into a Fairytale

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story but musical interludes far to loud

As an adult I enjoy children's books to fall asleep to. This books recording has a huge difference between the spoken voice levels and thoes of a few sound effects and every musical interlude that blast out at you. Infact the music actually woke me up - so as a book to fall asleep to this is pointless!! I'm considering returning this as it's not fit for my primary usage but the story is actually rather good so I'm currently undecided.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Has the author never met a 9yearold girl?

I have never met such a clingy, dependent and incapable girl as this child in real life. Definitely a crap role model for girls. And what parents keep on like that about the dangers of being scared by reading?! A normal girl would have found the book and read it herself within minutes.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

brilliant

Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this audiobook! Ben Miller is great at voices and the story was great. Funny and brilliantly told 🙂

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yes I am an adult !!! but....

Loved this as bedtime listening. The story line was imaginative and Ben Miller's read was straight forward and easy to listen to. Good twist on fairytale...kids would enjoy it too 😅

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Unique

A unique & entertaining fairytale, blending modern and traditional. Very clever and a good read

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

A really brilliant story. Capturing adults and children alike. So easy to get lost into the story. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story but the chapters were out of sequence

My daughter loved it! She said "it was lovely!"
A really good twist on the traditional tales we all know and love and funny too!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Your daughter's will love this

This is a cute story which the author performs well, takes elements or ideas from other stories/books and weaves them into this very enjoyable tale.
We have our story time, then as we put audible on to listen to as we fall asleep. which this book is perfect for!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

one of the best stories ever

Ben Miller is brilliant, his story was beautiful and enchanting. loved all of the characters. Looking forward to listening to another one of his stories 😄

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

love this book from start to finish a breath of fresh air. would highly recommend