Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Affairs of Ashmore Castle cover art

The Affairs of Ashmore Castle

By: Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Narrated by: Penelope Freeman
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The second novel in the Ashmore Castle series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, from the author of the hugely successful Morland Dynasty novels.

Behind the doors of the magnificent Ashmore Castle, secrets are waiting to be uncovered...

England, 1903.

Giles, the new Earl of Stainton, is struggling to bring his family's estate back to order after the death of his father, and he has little time to spare for his young pregnant wife, Kitty. She lives in fear of her mother-in-law, who won't give up the reins of the household. Will she ever truly be mistress of Ashmore Castle? Perhaps if her coming child is a boy, that will change the balance of power...

Meanwhile, the Earl's younger sisters are having their first taste of romance, but not necessarily with the right people. Richard is pursuing his forbidden relationship with Molly, while Nina makes a lively new friend who leads her straight into trouble and pushes her relationship with her husband to the limit.

And below stairs, ambition, jealousy and revenge stalk the corridors, while a tragic suicide, a tender romance, and finally a mysterious disappearance challenge the castle's residents, both high and low...

The second novel in the Ashmore Castle historical family drama series, filled with heartbreak, romance and intriguing secrets waiting to be uncovered. The perfect story for fans of Downton Abbey, Bridgerton and rich period dramas.

©2022 Cynthia Harrod-Eagles (P)2022 Hachette Audio UK

What listeners say about The Affairs of Ashmore Castle

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

DISAPPOINTING!!!

The first book I enjoyed very much - even so I was disappointed at its sudden abrupt ending - therefore I was delighted that there was book 2

Unfortunately book 2 was a total disappointment!
Firstly as the story starts to be boring - too much of staff quarrels-
Secondly the side stories don’t make sense…

And again the book ends mid sentence it feels - and that is most disappointing and frustrating!

I shall no longer choose books by this author - as I don’t like books which have no proper ending.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love Cynthia s books

Though I loved the story & look forward to the next in the series......I loved the Morland Dynasty more.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeanne
  • Jeanne
  • 04-09-22

Not as good

I listened to the whole book and I just couldn’t enjoy it like I did the first one.
The last chapter was by far the best part.