Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Tenderness cover art

Tenderness

By: Alison MacLeod
Narrated by: Antonia Beamish,Tim Treloar,Sophie Aldred,Bill Hope,Elliot Fitzpatrick
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £27.99

Buy Now for £27.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Bloomsbury presents Tenderness by Alison MacLeod.

For fans of A Gentleman in Moscow and Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, an ambitious, spellbinding historical novel about sensuality, censorship, and the novel that set off the sexual revolution.

On the glittering shores of the Mediterranean in 1928, a dying author in exile races to complete his final novel. Lady Chatterley’s Lover is a sexually bold love story, a searing indictment of class distinctions and a study in sensuality. But the author, D. H. Lawrence, knows it will be censored. He publishes it privately, loses his copies to customs and dies bereft.

Booker Prize-longlisted author Alison MacLeod brilliantly recreates the novel’s origins and boldly imagines its journey to freedom through the story of Jackie Kennedy, who was known to be an admirer. In MacLeod’s telling, Jackie - in her last days before becoming first lady - learns that publishers are trying to bring D. H. Lawrence’s long-censored novel to American and British readers in its full form. The US government has responded by targeting the postal service for distributing obscene material. Enjoying what anonymity she has left, determined to honour a novel she loves, Jackie attends the hearing incognito. But there she is quickly recognized and FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover takes note of her interest and her outrage.

Through the story of Lawrence’s writing of Lady Chatterley’s Lover, the historic obscenity trial that sought to suppress it in the United Kingdom, and the men and women who fought for its worldwide publication, Alison MacLeod captures the epic sweep of the 20th century from war and censorship to sensuality and freedom. Exquisite, evocative and grounded in history, Tenderness is a testament to the transformative power of fiction.

©2021 Alison MacLeod (P)2021 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

What listeners say about Tenderness

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Josette Luvmour
  • Josette Luvmour
  • 15-05-22

Tedious and monotonous

This book just lacks interest. the story goes on and on tediously pulling in Jackie Onassis (who everyone loves) for interest but in the most uninteresting way possible. Sorry, I wanted to like this but I really just could not get through it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robin
  • Robin
  • 06-12-21

On and On and On

Excellent story. Great narration. Book went from here to there and back again at breakneck speed, and though I REALLY wanted to love it…kind-of just didn’t. Had I been reading instead of listening, I never would have finished it.