Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Sovereign

  • Shardlake, Book 3
  • By: C. J. Sansom
  • Narrated by: Steven Crossley
  • Length: 20 hrs and 59 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (1,778 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Sovereign cover art

Sovereign

By: C. J. Sansom
Narrated by: Steven Crossley
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Seeker cover art
The Unquiet Bones cover art
Shardlake: Lamentation cover art
Shardlake: Dissolution cover art
Cathedral of Bones cover art
A Plague on Both Your Houses cover art
The Ashes of London cover art
The Adventures of Brother Cadfael cover art
A Conspiracy of Violence cover art
The Diamond Throne cover art
Birthright cover art
The King’s Gambit cover art
Speaks the Nightbird cover art
Henry VIII: King and Court cover art
The Jekyll Revelation cover art
Sacred Treason cover art

Summary

Following on from Dissolution and Dark Fire, Sovereign is the third gripping historical novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

'A parchment-turner, and a regal one at that' - Sunday Times

‘Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time’ - Andrew Taylor, Spectator

Autumn, 1541: King Henry VIII has set out on a spectacular Progress to the North to attend an extravagant submission of his rebellious subjects in York.

Already in the city are lawyer Matthew Shardlake and his assistant Jack Barak. As well as assisting with legal work processing petitions to the King, Shardlake has reluctantly undertaken a special mission for the Archbishop Cranmer – to ensure the welfare of an important but dangerous conspirator being returned to London for interrogation.

But the murder of a local glazier involves Shardlake in deeper mysteries, connected not only to the prisoner in York Castle but to the royal family itself. And when Shardlake and Barak stumble upon a cache of secret papers which could threaten the Tudor throne, a chain of events unfolds that will lead to Shardlake facing the most terrifying fate of the age . . .

Continue the number one bestselling historical series with Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland.

©2006 C. J. Sansom (P)2014 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.

What listeners say about Sovereign

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,409
  • 4 Stars
    318
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,359
  • 4 Stars
    213
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,224
  • 4 Stars
    316
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best of the Shardlake stories.

I have read/listened to all of the series, which is good, but this is the best so far.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing writing!

This book completely absorbs, informs and engages. You are there, in the hard and grimy, physical and political world. The story is layered with twists and shocking turns. Wonderful and I thank CJ Sansom for his gifts which he shares with us.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic story, listened to multiple times

CJ Sansom’s second best in the series after Lamentation. I thought the ending was perfectly written.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

historical murder mystery

really enjoy these historical murder mysteries. I can invest in the characters who have ordinary life problems.
I would like the narration to have more distinction. all the voices sound the same, it is hard to know who is "talking"

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Deep breath and immerse yourself in Tudor thrills

my only concern is Jack does not sound like the Jack in my head from reading the books (yes I've read them all but doing a lot of driving I love listening to them all over again. the complex plots mean I dont get bored!)#sansomsaddo. I read this one first having lived in York and that was fine but quickly went to the others and read in order.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tudor Sherlock Holmes - totally awesome

Details of the Tudor way of life, the court & Henry VIII, a great book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable

Having read the the first two books in the series I am happy to say the narrator does a great job in bringing the story to life. Good stuff

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tremendously enjoyable

Would you consider the audio edition of Sovereign to be better than the print version?

Can't answer this - haven't read the print version.

Who was your favorite character and why?

I think that Barak stole the show here. Put into a diverse range of scenarios and complicated by affairs of the heart, he demonstrates a very human and normal reaction towards what is presented to him. It rings true.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

When Shardlake experienced the private library in York. that was particularly well written.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

In a word, no. At times I felt the narrative lacked pace and failed to keep the interest of the reader. This said, it is a tale of intrigue and politics and cruelty; a heady mix. A compelling story line kept me coming back again and again.

Any additional comments?

A well-crafted whodunit. The century is well represented in may ways, making historical characters larger than life. This creates an interesting backdrop to the story. Tremendously enjoyable!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love the voice

I think a bit more needs to happen, although I do like the Shardlake books...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another gripping story

A good story set within an historical Tudor context. Lots of twists and turns with an unexpected ending. Roll on the next Saedlake book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!