Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.79

Buy Now for £14.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When he was 21 James Lessiter told Henrietta Cray that he loved her before all things and so broke Catherine Lee's heart. But James has a side to him that most people do not see. When the engagement is broken off no one is sure why and Rietta refuses to explain. Twenty years later James returns to the village an extremely wealthy man. Rietta is still unmarried and Catherine is a penniless widow living in a cottage on the Lessiter estate. Trouble is inevitable, for Catherine has started to sell some of the valuable contents of the cottage to keep up a lifestyle she cannot afford but James has his suspicions and is looking forward to exposing her. He has always enjoyed seeing someone else suffer whatever the cost. When he is brutally murdered there are all too many people who would benefit from his death but fortunately Miss Silver is ready to investigate.

©1951 Patricia Wentworth (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Miss Silver Comes to Stay

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

compelling & beautifully read

What did you like most about Miss Silver Comes to Stay?

Miss Silver is so much more interesting & convincing a character than Agatha Christie's Miss Marple, and deserves to be much better known. Patricia Wentworth is excellent at invoking the post-war English village, with all its nuanced relationships. She is delightfully dry and pithy. Miss Silver comes to stay is a great "page turner", I bought it to listen to on my daily commute but found myself bringing the audio inside and continuing to listen every evening.

What other book might you compare Miss Silver Comes to Stay to, and why?

it's in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh, or Georgette Heyer's detective stories ... arguably they have narrow range of settings and a limited cast of characters, but are brought to life by taut plotting and excellent writing, with some vivid period detail

Any additional comments?

Diana Bishop's narration is excellent

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

One of Patricia Wentworth’s best and beautifully read by Diana Bishop. It evokes the transition and pressures of change after the war, a bygone era with maids, financial dependency and women at home alongside a cracking whodunnit and knitting Miss Silver. Maud disentangles the intricacies of crime as she disentangles her wool!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant 👏

Diana Bishop is a master narrator. Puts so much into the reading that you will see the whole book in your mind...enjoy!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

curious!

lovely story has me wondering who came first Miss Marple or Miss Silver ?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Miss Silver always entertains.

I enjoyed reading most of the Miss Silver books 40+ years ago. Now the superb narration of this title, and of all the books in this series brings even greater enjoyment.