Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Invisible Girl cover art

Invisible Girl

By: Jill Childs
Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A heartbreaking page turner with an unexpected ending....

A heartbreaking story of family secrets from the USA Today best-selling author of Gracie’s Secret. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain. 

I know you. I know you in a way you can’t even imagine. I have been searching for you in the years since you wrote that letter - the letter that told me you were looking for me too. But now that I’ve found you, I don’t know if I can say the terrible truth of what I am. It would ruin your perfect life. It would hurt your beautiful daughter.

So, I hesitate - bide my time, for now. This morning, you’re running late and your little girl, tugged by the hand, scurries to keep up with you. She’s clean but a little scrawny. Maybe that’s because you struggle with the bills; maybe she’s just made that way. 

I know what it is to have lost a child. I pray you never learn how that feels. But I can’t wait forever… and when I finally tell you my secret, will it break you like it did me all those years ago?
 

"Riveting… Emotional! This was a brilliant fast-paced domestic drama!... A compelling story full of all the twists and turns." (Audio Killed the Bookmark)
 

"The characters are flawed but show great emotion… The author has tremendous insight into the mind of a young child… If you like domestic thrillers, emotion-packed drama, and a gripping storyline, this book is definitely for you." (Waggy Tales Dog Blog, 5 stars)
 

"You did not know who to trust and who kept which secret. Everybody seemed suspicious…. When the culprit was finally revealed and all secrets were in the open, I could not believe my eyes. Not even in my wildest dream could I have guessed that! Fast paced…. emotional." (B for Book Reviews, 5 stars)
 

©2019 Jill Childs (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Invisible Girl

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it!

Not a book I'd have chosen to read on my own - this was a choice from my monthly book club. However, I honestly cant wait to sit down with them and discuss it!!

I loved every single character- each one bringing a special role to this story. I really enjoyed the twist - although I'd already guessed it - it was a good transition in the story.

My only critique (and it's really very minor) is that Maddie's internal monologue tended to repeat itself and drag on a little too long for my liking about 2 thirds of the way in. I'd have preferred to hear Sarah's thoughts more.

I'd definitely recommend this book! the narrator was brilliant - I loved her voice and the subtle changes she brought about with each character. I will be looking forward to hearing her again!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Invisible Girl

I really enjoyed the story and it kept my interest throughout the book. The narration was excellent!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed every minute

Gripping, really enjoyed this book. I could not stop listening. Easy to listen to. Just fantastic.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story

Good ending to a story of love grief and loneliness. Really enjoyed listening to this book

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen
  • Karen
  • 17-02-21

Overall, Excellent.

I was engaged from the beginning and found Mattie's story especially poignant. The excellent narration enhanced the story. I did think the editing could have been a little tighter and found the ending rather pat. But overall, it was one of the best audiobooks I've listened to in a while.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 25-08-22

Absolutely moving

Love love love. This book is full of nice surprises and love. What a touching story. I can’t forget the narrator too. She does such an excellent job. Bravo.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MimiX8
  • MimiX8
  • 15-06-22

Boring

Really disappointed. Hard to follow. Very boring. Waste of money and time for me. I should have listened to the sample. I will from now on.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roland
  • Roland
  • 05-06-22

Good book.

If you like a book with a surprise, this is it. The story is about family and recovery.

I only wish there were three readers for the 3 characters the chapters switch between. It would be easier to differentiate.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for VRL
  • VRL
  • 22-05-22

Regrets

Great story on how we chose to deal with crises can affect our lives. Great narrator. No swearing for those who this is an issue

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jlovkd
  • jlovkd
  • 16-05-22

No super dramatics, just a good story

It's a good story, believable and insight into the thoughts someone might truly have when being dealt a hard hand in life. The performance was great, I could tell each character by the narrators inflections, which is a plus for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Molnar
  • J. Molnar
  • 01-05-22

Great narrator

The story itself was just ok but the narrator brought it home. I am not sure I would have liked or finished if I had read it. I didn’t find it a thriller or mystery and though it was predictable I was still captivated. Good for anyone in recovery.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Colton
  • Colton
  • 26-02-22

Stick with it!

This story took awhile to bring it all together, but once it did, it was like a light bulb went on in my head. The author did a good job at bringing it all together nicely and helps you feel sympathy for all the characters. The voice actors did a great job and I’m definitely going to check out more books by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G.Y.
  • G.Y.
  • 16-02-22

Loved it!

Loved this book and the narrator was great!!! Her accent and how her voice changed for each character helps greatly in following the story, I felt like I was there. Great story, made me laugh and cry. Loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pop Eye
  • Pop Eye
  • 16-11-21

I was adopted in 1950.

My adoption papers were closed by the court. I could identify with Charlie’s
anger and I became an alcoholic.
Therefore I could also identify with Maddie. I never lived on the street,
but could see how that happens. I have been blessed.