Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £27.59

Buy Now for £27.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The author of In an Instant delivers a heart-pounding and emotional roller-coaster ride of self-discovery in the tradition of Thelma and Louise.

Needing to escape her abusive marriage, Hadley flees with her two kids, knowing it might be her only chance. A woman who can’t even kill a spider, Hadley soon finds herself pushed to the limits as she fights to protect her family. 

Grace, new mother of baby Miles, desperately wants to put her rough past behind her for good, but she finds it impossible when her path crosses with Hadley’s, and her quest for a new start quickly spirals out of control and turns into a terrifying flight for survival. 

Stronger together than apart, the two find their fates inextricably entwined, and as the danger closes in, each must decide how much she is willing to risk for the other. 

A powerful story of self-discovery, Hadley and Grace is the heart-racing tale of two women facing insurmountable odds, racing to stay one step ahead of the trouble that is chasing them, and discovering new kinds of love and family along the way.

©2021 Suzanne Redfearn. (P)2020 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

What listeners say about Hadley and Grace

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lot of fun

Another audiobook purchased after enjoying the original book on Kindle.

Well this was a lot of fun to read and listen to - way to go the new Thelma and Louise! I had absolutely loved 'In an Instant' by the same author, so was very keen to see what else she had written. 'Hadley and Grace' could have been very formulaic, but I really loved how the story came together and their lives became increasingly complicated..... all with an element of hope that it would come good in the end. Although somewhat fantastical, any good story can draw in the reader to the unlikely world of the characters. And this was a good story!

I thought all the main characters (Hadley, Grace, Mattie and Skipper) were very well-written, especially the first two. You could sense the desperation, the unwillingness to open up to the other, the need for things to work out. I loved that Skipper was based on a real-life Skipper, such a sweetheart.

The narration by the different actors really helped give the 'voice' to the two main characters, so different in their approaches to life, and their life-experiences.

A very good author - recommended!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not What I Expected

The story had a promising start but I found the way the events unfolded to be both a bit dull and a bit unbelievable. I didn't feel I liked any of the characters and they consistently made odd choices. I felt there was a real lack of a feeling of threat; the character of Frank could have been much more involved in the story and would have added a much needed sense of danger. Some things really didn't make sense to me - a good example in the most non -spoiler way I can manage would be that how is one of the kid's "Playstation"s able to go online? Does it have a SIM card? Is there built in Wi-Fi in the car? And why does the other person also have a separate "Playstation" with another copy of the game? And why does a baseball game have a chat feature?

On the audio side, it was superbly narrated, however the two female narrators disagreed on how the character of Grace sounds, with two widely differing approaches, which took me out of the story a little. Aside from that, all three narrators were engaging.

It wasn't a terrible story, and was mostly well-written. It just never grabbed me and I didn't really feel compelled to find out what happened next.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maggie May
  • Maggie May
  • 19-02-21

Doesn’t hold up to the reviews

The story concept is there if only the writing was up to it. Told by the first person, the character, I think would have been so much easier to follow and more interesting. I found my mind drifting with all the “she said, she said’s that were needed to get through a subplot. I was hoping for a fun escape story to take my mind off of current day issues.

The narrators were great, especially since whose voice they should speak in really didn’t make sense. If one was speaking for Grace and the other for Hadley it would have been so much easier for them to just be that character.

When written so unintelligibly it becomes boring fast. I liked the fantasy ending but it wasn’t worth the many hours I did not like. I’m pretty good at following audible stories when they capture me. I just kept giving it a chance as I’m desperate for entertainment these days that is not about some world war or concentration camps.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carolyn privitera
  • carolyn privitera
  • 25-02-21

too sickeningly sweet

really struggled to finish it. way too up beat and predictable for me . I found myself wishing something really tragic and suprisung would happen to make it interesting.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dorene
  • Dorene
  • 30-04-21

A little confusing at first but great characters.

Wasn't a great start but once I got the characters straight it was non-stop action. Once Hadley and Grace found themselves thrown together the story had hooked me. I was afraid they were gonna get caught. The ending was awesome.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 18-02-21

An adventure that often gives the reader anxiety!

Not the kind of book I normally read but glad I did. Good characters with lots of depth. My only disappointment was in the worlds betrayal of Grace, we need to be more fair and understanding of what makes people who they are.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-02-21

a 5 star story

ok. at first I was confused for a few chapters..I thought dear God not another one. but BAM! I loved it. Kept rooting for the misfit partnership of these 2 women and their kids. It wasn't easy to put down. Get the audible and enjoy it to its fullest. you won't be sorry.. bye Thelma..see ya Louise

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CK
  • CK
  • 26-05-21

Great character development

I enjoyed reading Hadley a grace it was a very heartfelt story. Ms. Redfearn weaves a tale interlaced with suspense, pace ,feelings and makes you root for the underdog.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for rambosmiles
  • rambosmiles
  • 05-05-21

Loved this Audio Book!

I was somewhat tired of listening to audio books until I stumbled across this one. Each character is interesting on his and her own, but together produce a disturbing, yet overwhelmingly heartwarming story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jen453
  • Jen453
  • 15-01-22

Thelma and Louise?

I was drawn in by each woman's story right away and the shared story captivated me. Go figure adventure hungry Feds or Reporters would get the story wrong and compare them to Thelma and Louise. My only regret in the whole story is Mark, I wish his story could have ended different. For me this was a 2 nighter audible listen. I had to keep turning the timer back on because I was engaged in the story and not asleep yet.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Larry Robinson
  • Larry Robinson
  • 02-01-22

Hadley and Grace

Loved it! I couldn't stop listening. I listened for almost 5 hours straight the first time I started listening to the book! Great writing! I will have to see what other books this writer has done!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christina Pedone
  • Christina Pedone
  • 04-10-21

Great narration. Wonderful story.

I fell in love with the characters and didn't want this book to end. Great story about family, friendship, loyalty and forgiveness.

1 person found this helpful