Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Gods of Jade and Shadow cover art

Gods of Jade and Shadow

By: Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Yetta Gottesman
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A Best Books of Summer 2019 Pick by Publishers Weekly

One of the Hottest Books of Summer by Goodreads

A Summer 2019 B&N Discover Great New Writers Selection

Inspired by Mexican folklore, Gods of Jade and Shadow is a magical, wildly imaginative coming-of-age tale for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Helene Wecker.

The Jazz Age is in full swing, but Casiopea Tun is too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather's house to do more than dream of a life far from her small town in Southern Mexico.

Until the day she accidentally frees an ancient Mayan god of death, who offers her a deal: in return for Casiopea's help in recovering his throne, he will grant her whatever she desires. 

From the jungles of Yucatán to the bright lights of Mexico City and deep into the darkness of Xibalba, the Mayan underworld, Casiopea's adventure will take her on a perilous cross-country odyssey beyond anything she's ever known.

Success will make her every dream come true, but failure will see her lost forever....

©2019 Silvia Moreno-Garcia (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic reviews

"This is historical fantasy at its best." (S.A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass)

"Wondrous and magical." (Kevin Hearne, author of the Iron Druid Chronicles)

"Evocative and moving." (Rebecca Roanhorse, author of Trial of Lightning)

What listeners say about Gods of Jade and Shadow

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant, elaborate tale

An imaginative and elaborate tale in the style of magical realism. Love this author. Narration was fantastic and had me captivated.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An intriguing story but a bit flat.

This is a very intriguing tale of lush worldbuilding and spellbinding writing but the story is a bit flat and the plot uneventful. Mexican Gothic is one my favourite reads ever and I can see bits and parts from Garcia`s writing style here that I enjoyed but it still didn't fascinate me so much. The voice artist was very good at bringing out feeling.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karoline
  • Karoline
  • 07-11-20

Modern folktale, with spine

This is sweet, and compulsive escapism that does your soul good.

The lead character Casiopea is headstrong and determined. I loved her because she doesn't just do what she's meant to or think what she's meant to. She doesn't take the easy or most self-gratifying way out of difficult situations. She's a hero.

I liked that I couldn't predict what was going to happen next, and the characters you meet along the way, and the adventures and challenges are rich and interesting.

The narration is great, this is the perfect gentle strong voice for this story, which helps you escape away into another world.

I disagree with another review I've seen elsewhere that said this boils down to another traditional male-assent-oriented romance narrative, I think at it's heart it rejects that, and Casiopea makes her own choices.

It's lush and beautiful, and a pleasure to go along for the ride.