Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £21.19

Buy Now for £21.19

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.


Eyes of a Blue Dog (sp. Ojos de perro azul) is a collection of twenty-two death-themed short stories from the Colombian Nobel-winning novelist, screenwriter, and journalist, Gabriel García Márquez.

These early stories of the late Nobel Prize winner were written and published between 1947 and 1955, although, as a book, Blue Dog Eyes would not appear until 1974, when the writer had already published two other books of short stories and four novels, of which the last, One Hundred Years of Solitude, would provide him with his first great international success.

This book includes his first famous story, “Monologue of Isabel watching it rain in Macondo.” This story was the first stone of that gigantic building, as imaginary as it was real, that would end up founding the most powerful literary space of our time: Macondo. 

This edition also includes “Tubal-Cain Forges a Star,” “How Nathanael Pays a Visit,” and “A Man Arrives in the Rain.”

©1947, 1955 by Gabriel García Márquez and the heirs of Gabriel García Márquez. Translation © 1984 by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, used by permission of HarperCollins Publishers (P)2021 by Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about Eyes of a Blue Dog

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.