Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

‘Count to three,’ her mother told her, the last words she would ever speak.           

As a teenager, Laughton Rees witnessed her mother’s brutal murder, which destroyed her life.

One: keep quiet 

Now a forensic analyst and academic expert, Laughton has written extensively on how to read crime scenes, but has one golden rule—she never works live cases.

Two: take a breath  

But the brutal murder of a wealthy woman changes everything when a copy of Laughton’s book on forensics is left next to the body, along with several bizarre objects.

Three: run

Now Laughton has to break her own rule, face her demons and try to catch a killer who seems to know her past...before her life is destroyed again.

©2021 Simon Toyne (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"There are times when I read another author’s novel and it’s so darn good I just want to put down my own pen and retire because I can’t match it. This is that book. I was riveted, flummoxed and completely captivated by these fascinating characters. The numerous twists kept me guessing all the way through." (Tess Gerritsen author of the Rizzoli & Isles series)

"An intense, compelling page-turner that is perfect for fans of Thomas Harris, from a hugely talented writer on top at the top of his game." (Steve Cavanagh, author of Thirteen)

"Simon Toyne knows his stuff, and in Dark Objects he puts it to excellent use, constructing a thrilling plot driven by intriguing, complex characters. The pacing is superb and as the suspense ratchets up you will find it impossible to put the book down." (Peter Robinson, author of Not Dark Yet)

What listeners say about Dark Objects

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

nothing compared to first couple of books

just very average story and narration was poor little to distinguish different characters in conversations

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

How disappointing

I pre ordered as I have enjoyed the author’s previous, but alas this failed to impress.
It seemed to over emphasis trivial points in the story, almost like filling space, but hey, who am I to criticise.
Thought the narrator was good though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A change of direction

I have to admit to being a fan of Simon Toyne's books and eagerly await the Solomon Creed series. So when I pre ordered this as soon as it showed up as a future publication I was expecting the next Solomon Creed book. This is nothing like his other books and is a murder mystery. It's like thinking you've ordered the next Harry Potter and getting Cormorant Strike.
The sheer quality of the writing and narrator soon have you engrossed. The characters are brilliantly brought to life and you are drawn in. The twist at the end is very unforseen. Really hope this is not a one off and the start of a new series as the 2 lead characters are wonderfully crafted and deserve further use.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matthew
  • Matthew
  • 19-07-22

Very good, buy stand-alone book.

Excellent crime novel with a great new set of characters, intriguing villain and an absorbing story. My only grip is that if this is a Soloman Creed book, i completely missed the connection .
definitely worth a credit though!