Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Cast in Firelight cover art

Cast in Firelight

By: Dana Swift
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar,Assaf Cohen,Dana Swift
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £35.29

Buy Now for £35.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Susan Dennard, and Mary E. Pearson.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people.

Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who's mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child.

Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery's most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: Their reunion will be anything but sweet.

Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross...and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead.

Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery's fate is in the hands of rivals? Fiancées? Partners? Whatever they are, it's complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

©2021 Dana Swift (P)2021 Listening Library

Critic reviews

“A fun, fast-paced fantasy saturated in wonder with a pair of dynamic heroes who will steal your heart. You won’t want it to end!” (Kaylynn Flanders, author of Shielded)

“The intricate world with magic-fueled, action-packed fight scenes and snarky, colloquial banter is loosely infused with Asian Indian cultural references…will appeal to fans of fast-moving fantasy adventures.” (Kirkus Reviews)

"Cast in Firelight sparks with quick humor and crystal prose, a vivid elemental magic system, a burning romance, and a heroine whose courage and wit light up the pages. A fantasy with a fresh voice equal-parts fun, romance, and action." (Amelie Wen Zhao, author of the Blood Heir series) 

What listeners say about Cast in Firelight

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather
  • Heather
  • 18-02-22

Truly sucks you in!

This is the first book in a really long time that sucked me in completely! I found myself wanting to read it rather than do anything else! The world of Wickery is so well fleshed out and the characters are incredibly relatable!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 3xtensions
  • 3xtensions
  • 07-02-22

Come for the magic stay for the characters!

Great book! Loved this magical world that almost reminded me of the festival of colors but was constantly entertained by the fast paced action scenes and sassy characters!