Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Can You Feel the Noise? cover art

Can You Feel the Noise?

By: Stewart Foster
Narrated by: Charlie Sanderson
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Day No One Woke Up cover art
Ajay and the Mumbai Sun cover art
Some Sunny Day cover art
The Asparagus Bunch cover art
Sister Switch cover art
Matt Millz cover art
How to Be Me cover art
Nothing Ever Happens Here cover art
The Insiders cover art
Can You See Me? cover art
You Won’t Believe This cover art
This Wonderful Thing cover art
The Paper & Hearts Society cover art
An Unusual Boy cover art

Summary

A profound story about inner strength and perseverance in the face of a life-changing event, from the award-winning author of The Bubble Boy. Perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder and Lisa Thompson's Goldfish Boy.

Life is going well for Sophie. She’s getting by at school, has some pretty awesome friends and their band have made it through to the semifinals of the Battle of the Bands competition.

But when Sophie wakes up completely deaf one morning, the life she once knew seems like a distant memory. With lessons replaced by endless hospital appointments, and conversations now an exercise in lip-reading, Sophie grows quieter and quieter. Until she discovers the vibrations of sound through an old set of drums and wonders whether life onstage is actually still within reach.

Drawing on the author's own hearing impairment, Can You Feel the Noise? is a deeply personal and moving story that will stay with you long after listening.

©2022 Stewart Foster (P)2022 Simon & Schuster, UK

Critic reviews

"A wonderful book about overcoming a life-changing event and the remarkable power of music." (Lisa Thompson, author of The Goldfish Boy)

"Powerful, moving and uplifting. This beautifully told story highlights the gift of perseverance." (Polly Ho-Yen, author of Boy in the Tower)

"A moving, empathy-boosting, and hopeful story about a young musician navigating hearing loss." (Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author of Think Like a Boss)

What listeners say about Can You Feel the Noise?

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.