Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Against All Gods

  • The Age of Bronze, Book 1
  • By: Miles Cameron
  • Narrated by: Peter Noble
  • Length: 17 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (41 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Against All Gods cover art

Against All Gods

By: Miles Cameron
Narrated by: Peter Noble
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Kingfall cover art
Killer of Men cover art
Wrath Goddess Sing cover art
The Justice of Kings cover art
The Malevolent Seven cover art
Odin's Game cover art
The Voyage of Odysseus cover art
The Ill-Made Knight cover art
The Will of the Many cover art
The Fort cover art
Tyrant cover art
The Emperor's Blades cover art
Sons of Darkness cover art
Heroes Road: Volume One [Dramatized Adaptation] cover art
The Wars of Gods and Men cover art
The King Must Fall cover art

Summary

The tyranny of the gods is absolute, and they are capricious, malevolent and almost all-powerful, playing cruel games with the fates of mortals for their own ends....

A vibrant and powerful epic set against an alternate Bronze Age, this tale of gods, men and monsters, conspiracy and war, is a rich, compelling and original tale from a master of the historical and fantasy genres. The people caught up in toils of the gods are merely trying to survive. Victims of vicious whims, trapped by their circumstances or pushed beyond what the mortal frame can bear, a handful of god-touched mortals—a scribe, a warlord, a dancer and a child - are about to be brought together in a conspiracy of their own.

A conspiracy to reach the heavens and take down the corrupt and ageing gods...who are already facing troubles of their own....

An epic that draws on the Greek mythology of gods and heroes, this new trilogy is a must-hear for fans of Dan Simmons and Madeline Miller alike.

©2022 Miles Cameron (P)2022 Gollancz

Critic reviews

"Utterly, utterly brilliant. A masterclass in how to write modern fantasy—world-building, characters, plot and pacing, all perfectly blended. Miles Cameron is at the top of his game." (John Gwynne, author of the Faithful and the Fallen series)

What listeners say about Against All Gods

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok have been spoiled by the Red Knight

Ok very long build up but I suppose it’s world building however the narrative excellent. Description of scenes amazing and memorable. I will be buying The next

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story brought alive by the narrator!

I loved the depth and character brought through in this book! Compelling characters expertly brought to life by the narrator in a very real feeling world!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Face paced and original with super narration. A strong recommendation and I will certainly read the next book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect bronze age fantasy

Like the red knight series this is some of the best historic fantasy around.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It’s a bit clunky

My overall impression after finishing is its a bit “he did this, then this”, so if the author was going for a myth format then he got it right. I just didn’t find the style engaging. The main characters were very one dimensional for me, some of the supporting cast and their machinations were a bit better, so the queen of the gods is jealous because her husband is having affairs. But he’s just angry and shouts for no real reason, and other characters are nasty, just because. I really wanted to like it but overall there was no real depth.
The narrator was good, unfortunately the writing meant it was almost as if he was declaring everything which was a bit jarring.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful