Listen free for 30 days

  • A Cottage Full of Secrets

  • By: Jane Lovering
  • Narrated by: Rose Robinson
  • Length: 7 hrs and 57 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Cottage Two, Bracken Ridge Farm sits at the end of a pitted track, with the glorious Yorkshire moors stretching behind it.

Just a simple two up, two down, the cottage holds the promise of a new start for two very different women, but it is also full of secrets.

Fifty years ago, newlywed Stella is relishing making the little cottage a happy home. But for all the lovingly handmade curtains and the hot dinners ready on the table for her husband, Stella’s dreams of married life jar painfully with the truth.

Fifty years later, the cottage is a new beginning for Tamzin. Determined to get away from her previous life, she makes the move to the wild and vast Yorkshire countryside.

When Tamzin finds a sepia photo of a woman, Stella, standing in the cottage’s garden, there’s a sadness in her eyes that Tamzin recognises. As the cottage reveals more of its secrets, Tamzin is desperate to find out whether Stella got her happy ending. And as she gradually makes new friends, and starts to win over her mysterious neighbour Euan, Tamzin dares to dream about her own happy ending, too....

Escape the rat race with this heart-warming, exciting new novel from Jane Lovering. Perfect for fans of Julie Houston, Beth O’Leary and Kate Forster.

©2022 Jane Lovering (P)2022 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about A Cottage Full of Secrets

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant listen

Usually I choose gentle ambling stories to help me fall asleep but this had quite a gritty back story to it which was captivating. A few twists which threw me but in a curious rather than annoying way. Will definitely look up more books by the author. Really liked the narrator too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just started

Ok please don’t hate me. However I can’t continue to read this book. I got to chapter 4.
As an animal lover I really can’t agree with the need for people to have a wild animal as a pet.
Foxes live in the wild not in enclosures.
I am sure they can become great companions. However I don’t want to read a book that has this as part of the story. I’m not going to return as that is not fair on the author. After all I wouldn’t buy a packet of biscuits and send them back because I didn’t like them. It’s o my audible that make profits.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Therese Van Arsdale
  • Therese Van Arsdale
  • 07-08-22

Reclaiming

The co er makes you think this is another cheery chocolate box romance, but it's not. Instead it is an examination of how to heal oneself after a heartbreak. Told with great humour, this novel is full of renewal and the ability to I e life a second go.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cate F.
  • Cate F.
  • 18-02-22

Sad but Hopeful story

Trigger DV. The fox was not a pet. It had been badly injured and brought back to health.
Jane Lovering’s books feature main characters with complex pasts that have hurt them deeply. In this book we see them grow and heal towards a happy future. It was not always an easy read, stories that include physical and verbal violence never are. Fortunately for me, humor, love, and generosity counterbalanced the sad pages. Rose Robinson was an excellent narrator.