DS Allie Shenton

5 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 7 ratings

Taunting the Dead Summary

How far would you go to protect the ones you love? And how much further would you go to betray them?

Nine out of ten murders are committed by someone the victim knows. So when Steph Ryder is found dead, DS Allie Shenton begins her investigation close to home, starting with Steph’s family and friends.

Soon the lies, backtracking and secrets multiply as each of the suspects tries to cover up their actions on that fateful night. Before long, Allie homes in on Steph’s ambitious and powerful husband, Terry. Convinced he’s hiding something, she interviews him again and again, each time seeing through his smooth charms.

As the trail grows hotter, the web of deceit pulls tighter and more bodies pile up. Allie must race against time to uncover the shocking truth of who killed Steph before the suspects get away with murder.

Set within the gritty streets of Stoke-on-Trent, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery with an emotional pull.

Taunting the Dead is the first novel in the Allie Shenton series of crime thrillers from the million selling British author, Mel Sherratt, and perfect for fans of DS Butler, LJ Ross, Angela Marsons, Joy Ellis, Rachel McClean, Caroline Mitchell and Meg Jolly.

©2021 Mel Sherratt (P)2022 W F Howes
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
From £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.