Listen free for 30 days

  • Underneath the Christmas Tree

  • By: Heidi Swain
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 9 hrs and 52 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (249 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Underneath the Christmas Tree cover art

Underneath the Christmas Tree

By: Heidi Swain
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The sparkling new Christmas novel from the Sunday Times best-selling author Heidi Swain!

Wynter’s Trees is the home of Christmas. For the people of Wynmouth it’s where they get their family Christmas tree and where Christmas truly comes to life.

But for Liza Wynter, it’s a millstone around her neck. It was her father’s pride and joy, but now that he’s gone, she can’t have anything to do with it. Until her father’s business partner decides to retire and she must go back to handle the transition to his son Ned.

When Liza arrives, she discovers a much-loved business that’s flourishing under Ned’s stewardship. And she’s happy to stay and help for the Christmas season, but then she has other plans. But will the place where she grew up make her change her mind? And can it weave its Christmas cheer around her heart?

Underneath the Christmas Tree is the perfect festive listen, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Carole Matthews and Cathy Bramley.

©2021 Heidi Swain (P)2021 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about Underneath the Christmas Tree

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    189
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    196
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    178
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love it.

This author and narrator can do no wrong. I loved this story, it was very atmospheric. I always get excited when I find a Heidi Swaine book for preorder. This book lived up to all the others and I can't wait for more.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this book

I absolutely loved this book. Heidi is my favourite author and Karen the narrator is always exceptional. I cant wait to read the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a Christmas Treat

Just finished this fabulous warm hug of a Christmas book and I want to start it all over again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as book 1

I was actually disappointed how little book 2 is follow up on book 1, feel like I’ve wasted my credit
Don’t take me wrong it was still good story I just expected following on book 1 since it’s a series

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

*Christmas Nostalgia*

*4.5 Stars*

Liza Wynter is from a family business that is all about Christmas. Wynter’s Trees is where it’s at. Sadly this all changes when the heart of the business her father passes on. It had been the two of them for so long as her mother passed many years before. Liza cannot get away from the business fast enough, her father’s business partner David and his son Ned have been holding the fort. But as the main shareholder she is always kept up-to speed but she cannot bring herself to even acknowledge any emails, calls or otherwise.

She decides she must go travelling but when David decides he is going to retire, Liza decides to go back and she will tell them she is selling the shares to Ned, David’s son. This goes down like a lead balloon and as a compromise they ask her to stay on and work to cover the Christmas period. Liza grudgingly agrees on the proviso that they keep what she intends to do a secret. All she has to do is get her head down and she is off with the business behind her.

Upon her return she is fascinated that the business is thriving with Ned at the Helm introducing new things without diluting her father’s vision. She knows if the money can be raised it will be left in safe hands.

Will it be that easy to leave the business for good? Can she ignore the growing attraction to Ned? Her answer is to push him onto another person and she reminds herself she will be leaving after Christmas so what does it matter?

This is a cozy easy read and I loved it, it made me laugh and there were a few moments with tears in my eyes, just a wonderful read with a great assortment of characters with Christmas thrown in.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not her best

I like this author, always easy listening with a feel good factor. This one though seems lazy or perhaps rushed. The constant repetition: ‘he worryingly said’, ‘she hastily said’, ‘he briskly said’, ‘he huskily said’, ‘she happily said’, ‘he thoughtfully said’, ‘I truthfully said’…I could go on. So many other ways for a professional writer to convey characters’ emotion or tone, other than endlessly repeating the word ‘said’ preceded by an adverb, throughout every chapter. It made me more conscious of the writing than the story at times, which was disappointing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Christmas story

Enjoyed this Christmas story, setting and description. Makes you want to go buy or hire a Christmas tree.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed

Really easy listening, feel good Christmas book. Nice story and well read. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

typical Christmas love story

easy listening, festive and feel good. predictable but aren't all romance novels, that's why we read them.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pleasant enough

This was a pleasant enough Christmas story, with a lot to enjoy. But there is an awful lot of repetition, without which it would have been a better book. I did get very bored with the amount of times the heroine told us how much she fancied the hero. Once or twice would have been fine, but having established the fact, I'd have been perfectly happy to have it left to my imagination.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara-John
  • Barbara-John
  • 02-10-22

Where was the editor? So much repetition!

I have enjoyed Heidi Swain’s books in the past, but in this one she treats the reader like an idiot and keeps repeating and repeating and repeating the conflict going on in the heroine’s head. I wanted to grown out loud yes I get it!