Listen free for 30 days

  • The Raven Song

  • A Hidden Norfolk Thriller, Book 11
  • By: J M Dalgliesh
  • Narrated by: Greg Patmore
  • Length: 8 hrs and 20 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (55 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
The Raven Song cover art

The Raven Song

By: J M Dalgliesh
Narrated by: Greg Patmore
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

One song for the dying... sung by the dead....

When the body of a young woman is discovered at the home she shared with her disabled daughter, DI Tom Janssen and his team must investigate the circumstances surrounding her death.

The woman was a single mother, well regarded, and popular among the group she frequented, but she had a checkered past...a life she kept secret from those around her...a life that may, ultimately, have led to her death. Friends, past lovers, and confidants offer conflicting descriptions of the deceased...did anyone know her at all?

The team realize the daughter is missing and, away from her medication, the little girl's life hangs in the balance. Unless the team can solve a seemingly calculated murder, an innocent life will be lost....

Set within the mysterious beauty of coastal Norfolk, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end when the final shocking twist is revealed.

The Raven Song is the latest novel in the Hidden Norfolk series of thrillers from the million-copy best-selling British crime writer, JM Dalgliesh, the author of the Dark Yorkshire books. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, Angela Marsons, Simon McCleave, and Damien Boyd.

©2022 J M Dalgliesh (P)2022 J M Dalgliesh

What listeners say about The Raven Song

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Glad the stories are going on

There is still a lot of life in the stories of the characters and their lives and those stories they are confronted with. It was different but maybe it had to find the momentum again to go forward. It was a story to think about and the end will be in my head for a while. Cannot wait for the next chapter and will have to read it as I’m too impatient to wait for the audio.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I found the book disappointing, nothing like the rest in the series. I speeded up the sound at chapter 7 because the speech was so slow and depressing. I had to give up on the book because I was bored waiting on excitement. Also, I did not like the storyline. I will be returning this book and will definitely not read any more from this author.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent story ruined

I love the Hidden Norfolk Thrillers but cannot bear to buy another. I got so annoyed by constant references of, biting his lower lip, rolling his tongue around his mouth and many more of this ilk. This totally unnecessary dialogue ruins what is, in every other respect, an excellent read.