Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When I wake up in the middle of the night, it’s not a sound that disturbs me. It’s a feeling. Silently, I creep to my daughter’s room, breathing a sigh of relief when I see her sleeping, her night-light twirling, butterfly shapes moving their pink wings. Quickly, I lock the door. I won’t let anything happen to my little girl. 

You tell him everything. The husband you adore, the father of your child, your best friend. 

He knows, just by looking at your sage green eyes, when something is wrong. The two of you can communicate with a glance or a touch of the hand. 

Except what if you can’t? 

What if your happy marriage has plastered over one huge lie? A lie you have even started to believe yourself in order to survive? 

What if you have a secret, something you have hidden from your beloved husband and your strawberry-scented baby girl to keep them safe? What if the guilt has kept you up, night after night, for as long as you can remember? 

What happens when suddenly, after 28 years, that secret refuses to stay buried? What will you do now that everyone you love, everything you cherish, is in harm’s way? 

An emotional, thought-provoking, and beautifully written novel that examines the pieces of ourselves we are afraid of and the impossible decisions we make when we are desperate. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Kerry Fisher, and Liane Moriarty will be moved by this heartbreaking tale. 

©2020 Nicole Trope (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Life She Left Behind

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Suzanne
  • Suzanne
  • 09-09-20

Narrator was horrible

I had to stop listening. When the narrator spoke as the young girl in an overly sweet sing song voice it was nauseating. I have 14 grandchildren age 2-20 and trust me none of them spoke like that

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mz Red 2020
  • Mz Red 2020
  • 03-05-22

The Life She Left Behind

I read this book as a Bookclub selection. Before I was halfway through I realized while it was well written that I did not get into the characters. I felt I irritation at Rachel and her “secrets” as well as disgust that after TWENTY-EIGHT years she was still stupidly keeping secrets and in fear. She had a life. She was well educated. She had a beautiful family. I could NOT fathom why she did NOT seek counseling! I don’t know why I felt this but I found it quite disturbing to the point I was rolling my eyes and thinking, “oh, give me a break!” I would not recommend this book simple because of that.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 08-11-21

Worth 3 credits!!

Get your tissue ready for a story of the most horrendous domestic abuse I have ever read or even heard of.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda
  • Amanda
  • 30-09-21

Dreary and depressing

Wish I could return this as I didn’t finish it. It’s slow moving, repetitive and not particularly believable. If someone likes reading about child abuse you might enjoy it but all a bit boring.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Malissa Seuth
  • Malissa Seuth
  • 29-04-21

Great book

I loved this book from the very beginning. Very sad story overall but the ending was good. Definitely recommend.