Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

She’s in your home. But can you trust her?

Newly pregnant and down on her luck, Lydia thinks her fortunes have changed when a customer at the café where she works offers her a job and a room in her plush Pacific Heights home. 

It’s been years since Iris’ husband, Dean, died in his sleep, and Lydia soon becomes the daughter Iris never had—making her cups of tea, helping her with the bills, and taking charge of Iris’ daily medications now that her memory has begun to fail.

Then one night, someone makes an emergency call from the telephone in the pristine kitchen. The police arrive to find the house has been turned upside down and no sign of Iris or Lydia. Dark and cold, this isn’t the welcoming family home it once was. And why has the telephone line been severed?

As the police unravel what happened that night, they discover a clue in Iris’ past that makes them question whether the two women met by chance after all. But who has everything to lose? And who is really in danger?

This heart-stopping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, Minka Kent, and Lucinda Berry. As soon as you start The House Sitter, you’ll be hooked!

©2022 Ellery Kane (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The House Sitter

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.