Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Kindle Storyteller Award winner 2021

Meet DCI Lesley Clarke. She’s a straight-talking city copper who doesn’t suffer fools gladly…and she’s been transferred to rural Dorset.

After being injured in a bomb attack, Lesley is presented with a choice - early retirement, or a period of respite in a calmer location.

But things don’t stay calm for long.

Before she’s even started her new job, Lesley is dragged into investigating a murder at one of England’s most iconic landmarks, the imposing Corfe Castle.

Lesley must hit the ground running. Can she get along with her new partner, DS Dennis Frampton, a traditionalist who doesn’t appreciate her style? How will she navigate the politics of a smaller force where she’s a bigger, and less welcome, fish? And most importantly, can she solve the murder before the killer strikes again?

The Corfe Castle Murders is a compelling, character-driven mystery perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross, and Elly Griffiths.

©2021 Rachel McLean (P)2021 Rachel McLean

What listeners say about The Corfe Castle Murders

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good listen

Can’t wait to listen to the next book! The relationship between the DCI and DS was brilliant - made me laugh out loud at times. The narrator really brought the characters to life.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

narration dreadful

I have given up on chapter 7. I never like Jan Cramers whiney slow voice but if it is a good story I put up with it. I believe this would be a good story but the poor attempt at a Scottish accent made me cringe and I could no longer listen to her. Jan Cramer should be ashamed of such a diabolical effort and stick to accents she can do.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy listening enjoyment

I really enjoyed this. I really like Jan Cramer as a narrator, it's a simple enough story, easy to listen to and I like Lesley's character and look forward to reading more. It's a nice Segway from the Zoe Finch books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really Enjoyed this!

This is my first book by Rachel McLean but I thoroughly enjoyed it, and will definitely listen to more in this series, when available, and also listen to her related series, about this main character's old colleagues.
I saw that a few other reviewers had objected to the Narrator, but I had no problem with her at all, and thought she did an excellent job of the characterisation.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this book

Read the zoe finch series first then this one. keeps going and going. the writer knows how to keep you hooked and the characters flow. the little surprise of dci Clarke at the end was fab too!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Character building !

Excellent chara,racterisation,good story but would have liked a few twists the plot built nicely and was easy to follow.I'll definitely be listening to another


2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • j
  • 03-03-22

a good fun tale

It's a really enjoyable story. I read a review that was very brutal about the narration. but there are lots of characters to do voices for, so I can forgive the odd incorrect twang every now and again. I would say worth the listen

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolute cracking book

Anything with Jan Cramer narrating you know will be a cracking book .. And after following all the Zoe Finch books , it’s been nice to carry on .
Fab storyline .. highly recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

waffle and awful narrator

didn't get halfway through, jumped to end to discover who dunnit and why. the narration is souless, and awful. story waffles. wasted credit

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad book

I found this book ok. But hoped it would have been better,struggled to finish it. Not sure about the narration as well.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-04-22

Jan Cramer led me to another win!

I'll admit I only chose this book because of its narrator. I'm now a fan of the series! I can't wait for book 2!

1 person found this helpful