Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Corfe Castle Murders

  • Dorset Crime, Book 1
  • By: Rachel McLean
  • Narrated by: Jan Cramer
  • Length: 7 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (299 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Corfe Castle Murders cover art

The Corfe Castle Murders

By: Rachel McLean
Narrated by: Jan Cramer
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Murderer's Son cover art
Deadly Wishes cover art
The Engine House: A Black Beacons Murder Mystery cover art
The Lost Girls of Penzance cover art
First Blood cover art
The Hope That Kills cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
The Infirmary: A DCI Ryan Mystery (Multicast Drama) cover art
Grimm Up North cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
Showdown cover art
Secrets in Blood cover art
Silent Tide cover art
Mirage cover art
The Edmonton Police Station Thriller Series, Books 1-3 cover art
Dark Game cover art

Summary

Kindle Storyteller Award winner 2021

Meet DCI Lesley Clarke. She’s a straight-talking city copper who doesn’t suffer fools gladly…and she’s been transferred to rural Dorset.

After being injured in a bomb attack, Lesley is presented with a choice - early retirement, or a period of respite in a calmer location.

But things don’t stay calm for long.

Before she’s even started her new job, Lesley is dragged into investigating a murder at one of England’s most iconic landmarks, the imposing Corfe Castle.

Lesley must hit the ground running. Can she get along with her new partner, DS Dennis Frampton, a traditionalist who doesn’t appreciate her style? How will she navigate the politics of a smaller force where she’s a bigger, and less welcome, fish? And most importantly, can she solve the murder before the killer strikes again?

The Corfe Castle Murders is a compelling, character-driven mystery perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, LJ Ross, and Elly Griffiths.

©2021 Rachel McLean (P)2021 Rachel McLean

What listeners say about The Corfe Castle Murders

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    14
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    163
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    17
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    145
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

I usually read grittier police drama so this made a nice change. Will listen to more of Rachel McLean. Thought the narrator I’d a good job too with all the different accents.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

All right wasn’t the most exciting.

The characters were hard to like except for the DCI heroine. Everyone else was dodgy. Old fashioned, opinionated sergeant, insipid young female characters- the murder victim and the uniform constable. Prat of a detective constable, intolerable super, irritating murderer and did we really need the dirty old man? Ew. And spoiler alert, after receiving divorce papers from her philandering husband the DCI reverts to a lesbian. Not my cuppa. Give me a Patricia Cornwell any day. Gave performance 4!as managed well with all the accents and flowed well. Good story. Just needs a little work, (maybe I’ll try another) to like the characters more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolute cracking book

Anything with Jan Cramer narrating you know will be a cracking book .. And after following all the Zoe Finch books , it’s been nice to carry on .
Fab storyline .. highly recommend

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thrilling

Absolutely loved it, kept me in suspense all the way through
The story line

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good

I did enjoy the novel, good strong characters but, a lot of unanswered questions by the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really Enjoyed this!

This is my first book by Rachel McLean but I thoroughly enjoyed it, and will definitely listen to more in this series, when available, and also listen to her related series, about this main character's old colleagues.
I saw that a few other reviewers had objected to the Narrator, but I had no problem with her at all, and thought she did an excellent job of the characterisation.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Home town walkabout,

Really enjoyed this book the storyline was good and I was sorry when it came to an end.I look forward to reading this author again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good listen

Can’t wait to listen to the next book! The relationship between the DCI and DS was brilliant - made me laugh out loud at times. The narrator really brought the characters to life.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

An enjoyable story but spoiled by the narration

The story was good although it finished a bit quickly. The relationship between the DCI and her sergeant was entertaining. The narrator had very strange inflections as she read and made some of the characters sound very silly when if I read the words they wouldn't have appeared so. I notice the narrator is used for all the books so I won't listen to any more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read

Loved the story and the narrator.
I wanted to read it straight off as it was too good to leave.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!