Listen free for 30 days

  • The Copperettes at War

  • By: Sue Wilsher
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 8 hrs and 52 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The brand new wartime saga from the much-loved author of The Tilbury Poppies. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna Douglas.

Essex, 1918.

Aggie has tasted freedom working at the local munitions factory. But the Great War is coming to an end, and the men are coming home. Aggie can't bear the idea of going back into service. She wants more from her life - and becoming a Copperette - a member of the Women's Police Service - might help her move up in the world.  

Mim just wants to do her bit for her country. She's prepared to work hard to help her fellow women and keep up morale. She even takes Aggie in to her house to help with her training.   

Mim and Aggie face shocking loss even in the last days of the war. But will they find a way to work together?

©2019 Sue Wilsher (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

What listeners say about The Copperettes at War

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely book

I love the voice of Annie Aldington she is so suited for these war time books, Sue Wilsher must do a lot of research I was surprised that it was the suffegettes that started the police women off. It certainly was a man's world with all the hostility from them, we certainly have a lot to thank them for.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The copperettes

A well written and well narrated book, a surprise to see how women were treated in 1914. And the struggle they had to be equal to men

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Justine harpin
  • Justine harpin
  • 06-01-20

Eye openener

I loved this book and wash such an eye opener to how things were for woman not so long ago. Wl book was well written and read beautifully