Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A stunning new historical novel perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Dinah Jeffries!           

From debutante to farmer’s daughter, all roads lead to Bletchley....

In a different world, Evie Milton would have accepted her fate, married an aristocrat and become the doyenne of one of England’s finest estates, just like her mother.

In a different world, Rose Wiley would have married her fiancé, David, established a modest homestead and brought up a brood of babies, just like her mother.

But this isn’t a different world, and these women are not their mothers. Rose dreams of a life filled with more than family and duty to her husband—a life of purpose—and Evie dreams of a life far away from her rarefied existence. Now, as they perform vital work at Bletchley Park decoding intercepted Luftwaffe messages, their role in turning the tide of war in the Allies favour shows Evie and Rose they don’t have to settle for the life once laid out before them.

©2022 Patricia Adrian (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Bletchley Women

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

In some places factually incorrect regarding Bletchley Park. The story is somewhat fanciful and aspects could never have taken place so the whole thing comes across a bit school girl. The narration isn't that good and at times difficult to ascertain which character is speaking. I listened to the end but was on the point of giving up on more than one occasion.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Average story

It flowed along nicely not exactly riveting or interesting but OK A bit of a cheat to a similar book l recently read but l managed to finish it without being overwhelmed

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ashley Glover
  • Ashley Glover
  • 28-06-22

What on earth is wrong with this narration???

While I loved the story, audible should be ashamed of the quality of this narration! It’s not that the narrator has a terrible voice or anything. It’s the BACKGROUND noise that you can hear consistently throughout the book. I can hear her turn pages. I can hear her sigh or take a breath before starting a new section. It’s as though I’m listening to someone read this story who is on the same room with me. It’s incredibly distracting. Please fix this! It should be an embarrassment to this poor author who wrote a wonderful book. I am willing to bet many listeners will not get through the first few chapters with the current narration, which is a shame because the story is compelling.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ada hathaway
  • ada hathaway
  • 25-05-22

Good Book

I liked this book a lot. The story line was good and I liked the characters. IMO the story did drag a bit with too much descriptive narrative. I would defiantly want to listen to more from this author.