Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Thicket cover art

The Thicket

By: CM Harris
Narrated by: Daniela Acitelli
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Something is stirring in the heart of Illinois....

When Jane and TJ agree to attend their high school reunion they never expect to come face-to-face with classmate-turned-stalker Lincoln the moment they return home.

Something that should never have been woken.

Unspoken words fester between them of the incident in the local woods 20 years ago when Evie vanished in a flash of amber light. They were the last three people to see her alive.

Something that should never have been provoked.

But the trees have been whispering to Lincoln ever since and as Jane and TJ arrive back in town, the voices call to him again, hissing three solitary words: she is here.

Sharp Objects meets Stranger Things in this razor-sharp small-town thriller—perfect for fans of Stephen King.

Previously published as She Never Left

©2021 CM Harris (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Thicket

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-12-21

Just not my cup of tea.

I rarely ever disparage a book as I admire anyone with the creativity to put words to the imaginings of their mind, but I just can't recommend this one. the story was too unbelievable, the characters weren't fleshed out enough to form any attachment, and the ending was abrupt and unsatisfying. Some of the subject matter was too "sciency" for my taste; I work with chemistry for a living! The awkward flow and monotone nature of the narrator's voice has earned her name a spot on my list for audio books that I will never listen to if she reads them no matter how interested I am in the book. It was just such a disappointment and one of the few books I have ever struggled to force myself to finish.

1 person found this helpful