Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.49

Buy Now for £14.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When her stepmother dies unexpectedly, Caro returns to her childhood home in Derbyshire. She hadn’t seen Elizabeth in years, but the remote farmhouse offers refuge from a bad relationship and a chance to start again.

But going through Elizabeth’s belongings unearths memories Caro would rather stay buried. In particular, the story her stepmother would tell her, about two little girls and the terrible thing they do. As heavy snow traps Caro in the village, where her neighbours stare and whisper, Caro is forced to question why Elizabeth hated her so much, and what she was hiding. But does she really want to uncover the truth? 

A haunting and twisty story about the lies we tell those closest to us, perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Cass Green.

If you love Cuckoo, don’t miss Sophie Draper’s brand-new mystery Magpie, available to order now!

©2018 Sophie Draper (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Spooky and absorbing. I was gripped from the first page." (Cass Green) 

"A remarkably, taught and chilling debut. I absolutely loved it. Brilliant writing. All the creepiness. A heart-stopping ending." (Claire Allan) 

"Sophie Draper is a remarkable new voice, combining beautiful writing with a gothic creepiness and a level of suspense which will keep the reader gripped to the end." (Stephen Booth) 

What listeners say about Cuckoo

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Read.

I got into this book from the beginning, and was sorry when I'd finished it. I liked her style of writing and will look for other book by her.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Amazing A must listen but not a ghost story

Wow what a great story, very well written, and how all came together to the huge climax, poor Caro. it was almost as if the ending was written first and the story just naturalłly flowed for the author.
The narrator was by far the best narrator I have listened to, she helped give the story it's feeling and soul.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mj
  • 31-01-19

Fabulous!

Fabulous- a twisty, believable, at times sad, at times moving, at times shocking.....story.

Well written. Brilliantly narrated/performed.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Read!

Ohhhhhh, very clever, Sophie!
I could visualise the art work and imagine this would make an amazing, heavily illustrated door stop of a book. 😍

My first recommendation
Superb!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

a story with a twist

Fairly predictable story but the narrator was excellent and she kept me listening. Very atmospheric

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Wow, it was like an entire cast performing, very impressive, compelling and inspired choice of performer

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie
  • Debbie
  • 09-12-18

Really Good!

Beautifully written, chilling, and a fantastic performance. This one is definitely worth a credit, and I listen to a LOT of books on Audible.

1 person found this helpful