Listen free for 30 days

  • Blood and Guts

  • DS Vicky Dodds Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 1
  • By: Ed James
  • Narrated by: Angela Ness
  • Length: 3 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Blood and Guts cover art

Blood and Guts

By: Ed James
Narrated by: Angela Ness
Try for £0.00

£7.99 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for £13.79

Buy Now for £13.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Christmas Eve. A dead teenager, another missing. One hell of a case.

Settling down for a nice Christmas Eve with her daughter and her best friend, a phone call pulls DS Vicky Dodds into work and to a deadly new case.

A teenage girl, her body cooling in a cold, dark supermarket car park. Found next to her friend’s car, but she’s missing too - has the killer taken her? Or is she the killer?

As the clock ticks down, Vicky digs deep as she investigates Dundee’s grim underbelly, and shows real blood and guts as she cuts through the lies of teenagers and a colleague’s furious rage in her pursuit of the truth.

Blood and Guts is a short novel introducing the new explosive crime thriller series from best-selling author Ed James, one of Scottish crime fiction’s grittiest writers. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, JD Kirk, James Oswald, and Stuart MacBride.

©2021 Grey Dog Books (P)2022 Grey Dog Books

What listeners say about Blood and Guts

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Could not get into this

Found the narrator tedious and storyline was too basic. Certainly not worth a credit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Another fantastic addition to Ed James's police procedure universe, another great character in Vikki Dodds, can't wait to read more. fast paced, exciting and keeps you wanting more, highly recommend. brilliant narration , really brings the characters to life 👍👍

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 06-07-22

Too short

I didn’t realize this was so short until I started it. I’m not a fan of short stories/novellas. I just finished it and I’m still not sure who did what. Everything was rushed including the ending. But the characters sound like they will be interesting so I’ll continue. Glad the audiobooks are finally available.