Listen free for 30 days

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The gripping new Scottish crime thriller that you won’t be able to put down. Perfect for fans of L J Ross and Val McDermid. 

Sometimes murder is the only way to get even....          

Four friends with dark secrets. One killer out for revenge. 

DI Frank Farrell and DS McLeod are tasked with investigating the brutal murder of a defence solicitor’s wife in Dumfries.

It’s been over a year since they left the town after an investigation robbed them of a dear friend. But now they’re back and must find a way to move on.

When the son of another defence solicitor is murdered, a strange tattoo etched on his body, the case takes them into darker, more disturbing territory.

It leads them back into the past - to a horrific fire in a cottage that took a woman’s life, to four friends harbouring dark secrets - and finally to a killer waiting patiently for revenge.

©2022 Jackie Baldwin (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Dark, twisting and utterly absorbing; this series just gets better and better." (M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show)

"A deliciously dark and twisted tale that kept me reading late into the night." (Graham Smith, best-selling author of A Body in the Lakes)

"Expertly plotted, I was completely engrossed in the investigation and the lives of the characters; there were twists and turns all the way through keeping me on the edge of my seat...definitely a 'just one more chapter' kind of read!" (Sharon Bairden, Chapter in My Life)

What listeners say about Avenge the Dead

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dull and confusing

I've listened to so many Tartan Noir type books and in comparison I found this dull, depressing and confusing.
There seemed to be too many characters and the narrator had the same voice for all of them. I felt there was no passion or fire in his narration when the story came to a dramatic part. All the characters came across as troubled or grumpy. I found the story itself jumped from one topic to another without much natural flow and the the climax was ridiculous and disappointing. I didn't return it because I was quite a way through before I realised it was going nowhere and I was confused about the characters.